Skip to Content

Does Shiva have 10 avatars?

Shiva, one of the principal deities of Hinduism, is often said to have taken on various incarnations or avatars over the course of Hindu mythology. However, unlike Vishnu who is said to have 10 famous avatars known as the Dashavatara, Shiva is not traditionally associated with having 10 major incarnations.

Shiva’s Avatars in Hindu Mythology

There are a few incarnations of Shiva that are mentioned in the Hindu scriptures:

  • Ardhanarishvara – The half-male, half-female form of Shiva.
  • Bhikshatana – The nude ascetic mendicant form.
  • Bhairava – The fierce and terrifying form.
  • Grihapati – The householder form.
  • Hanuman – In some traditions, Hanuman is considered an avatar of Shiva.
  • Kirata – The hunter form Shiva took to test Arjuna.
  • Lingodbhava – The iconic form of Shiva emerging out of a lingam.
  • Nataraja – Shiva as the cosmic dancer.
  • Sharabha – The part-lion, part-bird form Shiva took to pacify Narasimha.
  • Piplaad avatar – The form Shiva took as a brahmachari.

However, these incarnations are not counted or grouped together in the same way the Dashavatara (10 avatars) of Vishnu are. There is no definitive list of 10 main Shiva avatars that is universally accepted by all Hindus.

Reasons Why Shiva is Not Associated With 10 Avatars

There are a few reasons why Shiva is not particularly associated with having 10 major incarnations:

  • The concept of Dashavatara is more closely associated with Vishnu. It originated in the Puranas where the mythology of Vishnu’s 10 incarnations is prominently described.
  • Shiva’s role and nature is different than Vishnu’s. Vishnu’s avatars are more typically taken for specific purposes like destroying evil or restoring dharma. Shiva’s incarnations are generally more fluid transformations.
  • As per Shaivite beliefs, Shiva is considered too vast and infinite to be limited to particular forms. His incarnations are seen as mere manifestations of his formless nature rather than distinct incarnations.
  • The mythology and significance of the most popular Dashavatara of Vishnu has overshadowed any compilations of Shiva’s avatars.

So in summary, while Shiva does take on various incarnations, they are not grouped and counted the same way as Vishnu’s Dashavatara. There is no definitive scriptural list or popular consensus of 10 main avatars of Shiva.

Attempts at Listing Shiva’s 10 Avatars

Despite the lack of a solid scriptural basis, some modern interpreters have attempted to retroactively compile lists of 10 Shiva avatars to mirror the fame of Vishnu’s Dashavatara. For example:

  • The Linga Purana mentions the following 10 avatars in its account of the Shivalingas associated with each incarnation: Sarabha-murti, Nandi-murti, Maha-yogi, Avadhuta, Bhairava-murti, Grihapati, Durvasa-murti, Bhikshatana-murti, Sureshvara, and Brahmacharin.
  • Swami Sivananda proposed the following as Shiva’s 10 avatars: Piplaad, Nandi, Mahakala/Bhairava, Ascetic, Veerabhadra, Grihapati, Hunter, Kirata, Sharabha, and Hanuman.
  • Some Shaivites have suggested: Ardhanaari, Piplaad Brahmachaari, Bhairava, Grihapati, Lingodbhavamoorthi, Hanumaan, Rishabh, Nandi, Bhikshadana, and Avadhoot.

However, none of these lists have found universal acceptance and are primarily seen as modern attempts to formulate Shiva avatars to parallel Vishnu.

The 8 Heroic Manifestations of Shiva

One formulation that has found some scriptural and popular basis is the Ashta-Maheshvara or 8 heroic manifestations of Shiva. These forms, mainly mentioned in the Mahabharata, are associated with Shiva’s heroic exploits and are worshipped by warriors.

The Ashta-Maheshvara are:

Manifestation Description
Sharabha Half-bird, half-lion form that pacified Narasimha
Grihapati Householder form worshipped for blessings of home, family
Durvasa Incarnation known for quick temper and curses that played a role in events leading to Mahabharata war
Bhikshatana Nude wearing serpent form associated with destroying ascetic pride
Sureshvara Divine teacher form that preached Mantra-shastra and tantra to gods
Brahmacharin Celibate student form that taught means of attaining moksha
Yaksheshwar Lord of Yakshas worshipped for material blessings
Avadhoot Enlightened mendicant form beyond all bonds and dress

While not definitively counted as 10 avatars, these 8 manifestations showcase Shiva’s multifaceted nature and hold significance in Hindu symbolism and worship.

The 64 Manifestations of Shiva

The Shiva Sahasranama Stotram contains 1008 names praising Shiva in all his aspects. Within these 1008 names, 64 of them are said to be embodiments or manifestations of Shiva. These 64 manifestations cover the different legends, characteristics, and forms associated with Shiva. Some examples include:

  • Bharga – Destroyer of obstacles
  • Pinaki – Bearer of the divine Pinaka bow
  • Mritunjaya – Conqueror of death
  • Pashupati – Lord of creatures
  • Bhimashankara – Giver of courage and strength
  • Virupaksha – Shiva with unequal eyes
  • Chandrashekhara – Bearer of the crescent moon on his head

Thus, while not strictly avatars, these 64 manifestations covered in the Sahasranama capture a spectrum of Shiva’s different aspects worshipped by devotees. The textcolor{blue}{Dvadasa Jyotirlinga}, or 12 major Jyotirlinga shrines which self-manifested as pillars of light representing Shiva, are also major objects of worship for Shaivites.


In summary, while Shiva has many avatars and forms described in Hindu texts, they are not defined or grouped in the same way as the 10 Dashavatara associated with Vishnu. However, various interpreters have attempted to formulate lists of 10 main Shiva avatars. The most notable among these are the Ashta-Maheshvara and the 64 manifestations covered in the Shiva Sahasranama Stotram. But overall, Shiva is considered too vast and infinite to limit to 10 incarnations, even if some lists have been proposed by scholars. The fluid and multifaceted nature of Shiva’s mythology does not rigidly conform to the structured concept of definitive avatars seen in Vishnu’s Dashavatara.