Skip to Content

What are the three laws of God?

Obeying the laws of God is an important aspect of many religious faiths. These laws provide guidance and direction, and are believed to bring promised blessings to those who follow them. In this blog post, we will explore the three laws of God: fasting, fast offerings, and tithing. While these laws may not seem directly related to money, they are actually rooted in faith. Through an examination of each law and the promised blessings associated with them, we will discover the significance of faith in practicing these laws.

Explanation of the three laws of God

Law 1: Fasting

Fasting is a spiritual practice that involves abstaining from food or drink for a specific period of time. It is often observed as a form of devotion and self-discipline. Many religious traditions recognize the power of fasting as a way to draw closer to God and seek spiritual guidance. In the context of the three laws of God, fasting is an act of faith that demonstrates obedience and trust in the divine.

During a fast, individuals focus their thoughts and intentions on spiritual matters. It is a time for introspection, prayer, and seeking clarity. The act of denying oneself physical nourishment serves as a reminder of the importance of spiritual sustenance. By forsaking the needs of the body, individuals show their commitment to seeking a deeper connection with God.

The promised blessings associated with fasting are numerous. In religious texts, it is believed that fasting can bring about spiritual growth, enhanced clarity, and a closer relationship with God. It is also seen as a means of seeking forgiveness, healing, and guidance. Through fasting, individuals demonstrate their faith and trust that God will provide the blessings they seek.

Law 2: Fast Offerings

Fast offerings are contributions made by individuals during a fast. These offerings are typically monetary donations that are used to assist those in need. Fast offerings are considered an essential part of the three laws of God, as they are an expression of compassion and charity towards others.

The purpose of fast offerings is to alleviate suffering and provide for the less fortunate. By giving generously, individuals demonstrate their willingness to share their blessings with those who are in need. This act of selflessness is a reflection of their faith in God’s commandments to care for the poor and disadvantaged.

Fast offerings are not just about giving money; they also involve offering time, talents, and resources to uplift others. By actively seeking opportunities to serve and making sacrifices for the benefit of others, individuals demonstrate their faith in God’s teachings and their commitment to living a life of compassion.

As with fasting, there are promised blessings associated with fast offerings. It is believed that those who faithfully and willingly give fast offerings will receive blessings in return. These blessings can manifest in various ways, such as increased abundance, protection, and a sense of peace and joy.

Law 3: Tithing

Tithing, the practice of giving a tenth of one’s income or resources as an offering, is another important law of God. Tithing has a long history and is mentioned in various religious texts. By giving a portion of their income, individuals show their faith and obedience to God’s commandments.

The purpose of tithing is to support religious institutions and the work of God on earth. It is a way of demonstrating gratitude for the blessings received and acknowledging that all things come from God. Tithing is not just about financial contributions; it also encompasses giving of one’s time, talents, and service for the betterment of the community and the kingdom of God.

The promised blessings of tithing are often emphasized in religious teachings. It is believed that those who faithfully tithe will receive blessings such as financial abundance, protection, and divine guidance. Tithing is seen as a means of opening the windows of heaven and inviting God’s blessings into one’s life.

Understanding the connection between the laws and faith

Following the laws of God requires faith. It is through faith that individuals trust in the promises made and believe that their obedience will lead to the blessings they seek. The three laws – fasting, fast offerings, and tithing – are all acts of faith that require trust in the divine.

Obedience to these laws goes beyond mere rituals or obligations; it is an expression of one’s faith and commitment to living according to God’s will. By practicing these laws, individuals demonstrate their belief in the power of spiritual practices and their faith in God’s guidance and provision.

Faith plays a crucial role in the practice of these laws. It is through faith that individuals find the motivation and strength to observe a fast, give a generous fast offering, or faithfully tithe. They believe that their actions are not in vain and that God will honor their obedience with the promised blessings.

Examples from religious texts and personal experiences highlight individuals who have demonstrated great faith through their obedience to these laws. Their stories serve as inspiration and encouragement for others to trust in God and faithfully practice these laws.


In summary, the three laws of God – fasting, fast offerings, and tithing – may not directly involve money, but they are deeply rooted in faith. These laws are expressions of our commitment to seeking a closer relationship with God, serving others, and acknowledging God’s blessings in our lives.

Through fasting, we show our devotion and trust in God’s guidance. Fast offerings allow us to demonstrate compassion and care for those in need. Tithing is an act of gratitude and a way to support the work of God.

To practice these laws effectively requires faith. It is through faith that we believe in the promises and blessings that come from obeying these laws. By nurturing our faith, we can deepen our connection with God and experience the transformative power of these laws in our lives.


  1. Three Spiritual Laws
  2. “The Old Testament Law” Ceremonial, Civil, Moral
  3. 3 Types of Biblical Law Distinguished in Scripture …
  4. The Three Purposes of the Law of God
  5. What three kinds of law did God give on Mount Sinai?