Skip to Content

What is love and its form?

Love is a universal emotion that has intrigued humans for centuries. It is a complex and multifaceted concept that manifests in various forms and shapes. Understanding the different forms of love is essential in navigating relationships, fostering personal growth, and enhancing overall well-being. In this blog post, we will explore the four primary forms of love identified by the ancient Greeks – storge, philia, eros, and agape. Additionally, we will delve into modern interpretations of romantic love, highlighting its diverse nature and impact on our lives.

Storge: Kinship or Familiarity

Storge, derived from the Greek word meaning “natural affection,” refers to the love that exists in familial relationships and familiarity. It involves a deep sense of care and attachment, often arising from a shared history and experiences. The love between parents and children, siblings, and even pets can be examples of storge love.

Storge love is characterized by feelings of comfort, acceptance, and loyalty. It is a form of love that grows over time and is based on familiarity and shared experiences. This love creates a sense of belonging and security, as individuals feel loved and accepted for who they are.

The impact of storge love extends beyond the individual level and plays a significant role in society. Strong family bonds contribute to a sense of stability and support, fostering healthy relationships and social cohesion. The love and support experienced within the family unit provide a foundation for personal growth and well-being.

Philia: Friendship and/or Platonic Desire

Philia, often referred to as “brotherly love,” encompasses the love between friends or platonic desires. It is a deep bond based on mutual trust, respect, and shared values. Philia love is characterized by companionship, empathy, and the willingness to support and aid one another.

Friendships formed through philia love contribute to our overall well-being. They provide emotional support, a sense of belonging, and the opportunity for personal growth. Friendships help individuals navigate life’s challenges, share joys and sorrows, and foster a sense of camaraderie.

Philia love also extends beyond individual friendships and can have a positive impact on communities and society as a whole. Strong networks of trust and support contribute to the development of resilient and thriving communities.

Eros: Sexual and/or Romantic Desire

Eros, often associated with passionate love or romantic desire, is perhaps the most well-known form of love. It involves intense emotions, attraction, and a strong desire for emotional and physical intimacy with another person. Eros love is characterized by infatuation, excitement, and a longing for deep connection.

Romantic relationships built on eros love play a significant role in human experience. They provide a source of emotional fulfillment, personal growth, and companionship. The intensity of eros love can create powerful bonds between individuals, as they navigate the ups and downs of a romantic relationship.

However, it is important to note that eros love can also be fleeting and volatile. It is essential to recognize the difference between intense infatuation and true, sustainable love. Building a strong foundation of friendship, trust, and shared values is crucial in nurturing long-lasting romantic relationships.

Agape: Self-emptying or Divine Love

Agape love, often described as self-emptying or divine love, goes beyond personal relationships and extends to a broader understanding of love. It is characterized by selflessness, compassion, and unconditional love. Agape love does not expect anything in return but rather seeks the well-being and happiness of others.

Examples of agape love can be found in religious or spiritual contexts, where individuals are encouraged to love their fellow human beings and show compassion to all. It is a love that transcends personal needs and desires, focusing on the greater good and the well-being of others.

Agape love has the power to transform both individuals and communities. It fosters empathy, understanding, and a sense of interconnectedness. By embracing agape love, we can create a more harmonious and compassionate world.

Other Varieties of Romantic Love

In addition to the four primary forms of love identified by the ancient Greeks, modern authors have expanded our understanding of romantic love to include various other varieties. These may include infatuation, obsession, and even unrequited love.

Infatuation is characterized by intense passion and desire, often accompanied by idealized notions of the other person. However, it is typically short-lived and lacks the depth and stability found in other forms of love.

Obsessive love, on the other hand, is an extreme and unhealthy form of love that can be all-consuming. It involves an intense fixation on another person and often leads to possessiveness and controlling behaviors.

Unrequited love refers to loving someone who does not reciprocate those feelings. It can be a painful experience, but it also offers an opportunity for personal growth and self-discovery.

These different varieties of romantic love highlight the complexity and diversity of human emotions and experiences. They remind us that love is not a one-size-fits-all concept and that our individual experiences of love can vary widely.


Love, in all its forms, is a powerful force that shapes our lives and relationships. The ancient Greeks identified four primary forms of love – storge, philia, eros, and agape – each with its own unique characteristics and significance. Understanding these different forms of love allows us to navigate relationships, cultivate personal growth, and enhance our overall well-being.

Additionally, modern interpretations of romantic love have expanded our understanding and shed light on its diverse nature. Varieties such as infatuation, obsession, and unrequited love remind us that love is complex and can manifest in various ways.

As we navigate the complexities of love, it is essential to recognize and nurture the different forms of love in our lives. By cultivating storge, philia, eros, and agape love, we can experience deep connections, personal growth, and contribute to a more compassionate and harmonious world.


  1. The 8 Different Types of Love + the Perfect Combo for You
  2. 8 Types Of Love + How To Find Out Which One You Have
  3. 7 Types of Love (And What They Mean)
  4. What Is Love? Meaning, History, Signs and Types
  5. 10 Different Types Of Love In Relationships & Their Indicators