Skip to Content

Does Disney have any PG-13 movies?

Disney is well known for making family-friendly films that are rated G or PG. However, Disney has also released several films under its various studios that have received the PG-13 rating over the years. While Disney’s brand is strongly associated with the most family-friendly films, the company recognizes that PG-13 films allow them to appeal to the important teen demographic as well. In this article, we’ll take a look at some of the PG-13 films that Disney has released.

History of Disney and Film Ratings

The Motion Picture Association film rating system was established in 1968, with the ratings of G, M, R, and X. In 1984 this changed to the current system of G, PG, PG-13, R, and NC-17. Disney films up until the mid-1980s were mostly rated G and PG.

In 1984, Disney released its first PG-13 rated film, Tex under its newly established Touchstone Pictures label. Touchstone Pictures was created by Disney to release more mature films without diluting their family-friendly brand. Tex was soon followed by additional early PG-13 Disney films like Splash in 1984, Down and Out in Beverly Hills in 1986, and Good Morning, Vietnam in 1987.

Using subsidiary labels like Touchstone, Hollywood Pictures, and Miramax, Disney was able to release films with more mature content and edgier themes than the Disney branded films. This allowed them to remain competitive and appeal to older audiences and teens.

Why a PG-13 Rating Appeals to Disney

A PG-13 rating indicates that parents are strongly cautioned as some material may be inappropriate for preteens. No one under 13 is admitted without an accompanying parent or guardian.

Disney has strong motivation to release PG-13 films in addition to family-friendly G and PG fare:

– Appealing to teenagers and young adults along with families is crucial to maximize box office revenues. PG-13 films tend to allow edgier plots and humor.

– With acquisition of studios like Miramax, Disney obtained libraries of films already rated R. Editing these films to PG-13 allows them to be branded under Disney.

– Live-action films based on properties like Marvel Comics tend to naturally warrant PG-13 ratings due to action violence.

– Disney’s extensive library of animated films and family programming gives them leeway with parents and brands to also release PG-13 fare.

– While Disney has their name strongly associated with family entertainment, having some PG-13 films helps them appeal to a wider demographic.

Major Disney PG-13 Films

While Disney has released well over 100 films rated PG-13, here are some significant examples from across their studios:

Marvel Studios
– The Avengers (2012)
– Captain America: Civil War (2016)
– Avengers: Infinity War (2018)
– Avengers: Endgame (2019)

Marvel Studios produces Disney’s highly successful superhero films. As comic book adaptations full of intense sci-fi action violence, they warrant the PG-13 rating.

Touchstone Pictures
– Con Air (1997)
– Armageddon (1998)
– The Insider (1999)
– Signs (2002)

Touchstone released several blockbuster PG-13 action thrillers in the 1990s and early 2000s. These films contained violence, language, and themes that exceeded Disney’s normal PG standards.

Hollywood Pictures
– The Sixth Sense (1999)
– Gone in 60 Seconds (2000)
– Pearl Harbor (2001)

Hollywood Pictures distributed some edgy PG-13 hits like the supernatural thriller The Sixth Sense.

– Scream (1996)
– Jackie Brown (1997)
– Scary Movie (2000)
– Gangs of New York (2002)

Independent studio Miramax was known for acclaimed Oscar contenders and also major commercial hits like Scream. Disney acquired Miramax in 1993.

20th Century Studios
– Independence Day (1996)
– The Simpsons Movie (2007)
– Avatar (2009)
– Deadpool (2016)

20th Century Fox released blockbusters like Independence Day and Avatar before Disney acquired the studio. Under Disney, Fox continued successful franchises like Deadpool with R-rated films edited to PG-13.

– Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith (2005)
– Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (2008)
– Star Wars: The Force Awakens (2015)
– Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)

Acquiring Lucasfilm allowed Disney to continue popular film franchises like Star Wars and Indiana Jones which had previously included PG-13 films.

Walt Disney Pictures
– Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003)
– National Treasure (2004)
– Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)
– The Lone Ranger (2013)

While rare, Disney has released certain PG-13 adventure films under its main studio such as the first Pirates of the Caribbean movie. However, most Disney branded films remain family-friendly.

Recent Years

In recent years, it seems the number of Disney-released PG-13 films has declined somewhat. Disney has been prioritizing PG and family-friendly projects for streaming on Disney+ and under its main studio brand. However, Disney continues to utilize PG-13 ratings for brands like 20th Century Studios and certain franchises like Marvel films.

Some major recent Disney PG-13 films include Ant-Man and the Wasp (2018), Frozen II (2019), and Free Guy (2021). Disney has also announced upcoming PG-13 titles including the next Indiana Jones, Deadpool 3, and new Star Wars films. So while Disney may be associated mostly with G and PG films, the PG-13 rating remains a useful tool for them when suited to certain properties. Allowing for films with more mature themes and action helps them draw in the crucial teen and young adult demographic.


While Disney’s family-friendly fare is what built their massive entertainment empire, the company has demonstrated a willingness to release PG-13 rated films under subsidiary brands when artistically and commercially appropriate. The PG-13 rating allows Disney to expand their audience reach and explore edgier content while still differentiating these films from their core Disney-branded content. Releasing some PG-13 films helps Disney maximize profits and remain relevant, as long as they maintain their strong association with beloved family programming. Parents may be more willing to trust Disney with PG-13 films knowing the company’s long legacy of bringing joy to children and families.

Studio Notable PG-13 Films
Marvel Studios The Avengers, Captain America: Civil War, Avengers: Infinity War
Touchstone Pictures Con Air, Armageddon, The Insider
Hollywood Pictures The Sixth Sense, Gone in 60 Seconds
Miramax Scream, Scary Movie, Gangs of New York
20th Century Studios Independence Day, Avatar, Deadpool
Lucasfilm Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith, Rogue One
Walt Disney Pictures Pirates of the Caribbean, National Treasure